Open Thread: Spinoff & Ep VIII Announcements

We finally got official confirmation on the spinoff movie I don’t care about and Ep VIII.

The spinoff will be called “Rogue One” and will star Felicity Jones, last seen in “The Theory of Everything.” The story concept came from PT visual effects supervisor John Knoll, but is still written by a team of yucky bashers. Fifty bucks says this is about a chick Rebel pilot. It’s coming out December 16, 2016 and will start shooting this summer.

Disneyfilm finally confirmed what the whole planet already knows, that Rian Johnson will write and direct Episode VIII. What is new is the scheduled release date, May 26, 2017, just in time for ANH’s 40th anniversary. I’m just happy Star Wars is back in May where it freakin’ belongs.

What do you think?

Tags:

10 Responses to “Open Thread: Spinoff & Ep VIII Announcements”

  1. madmediaman Says:

    I’m actually excited by this news. Just a few quick points:

    1) Star Wars RETURNS TO MAY!!! (Where it always belonged)

    2) Thank GOD no early Fett or Han movie… I’m fine with them as background characters, but let’s do something different.

    3) Rogue One is an intriguing title… like the first Rogue. Maybe she’s the first pilot hero of the Rebel Allaince and this film will focus on the early stages of the Rebellion. Maybe a WWII/Top Gun aviator type movie… that could really be fun.

    4) Gary Whitta NOWHERE in the press release. So bank it… he was fired. Even the Episode VII pressers mentioned Arndt’s work on the early stages of the script. Whitta’s a hack who probably couldn’t deliver the goods. Not a fan of another basher on board as a writer… But at least this press release gives me some hope.

  2. BansheeGun Says:

    I’m actually surprised by how uninterested I was when I heard these announcements. Disney sure knows how to kill a fans passion for the universe, don’t they?

  3. darth66zannah Says:

    i could care less about a stand alone film…i hate how disney is turning star wars into the Avengers…this really is the end of an era…when star wars releases were special…now we’ll have 3 movies every year like god damn avengers…i’m sick of it, BARF!

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I’m concerned about over saturation. There may be some good ideas for spinoffs but it doesn’t mean I want a new Star Wars movie every 18 months like machines coming off an assembly line.

  4. peacetrainjedi Says:

    Excited by the John Knoll connection for the spinoff and I’m interested to see where the film will go.

    And it is indeed awesome that the main episodic films are back in May. Though if they continue the 18-month between episodes pattern, IX would be in December…

  5. smoothkaz Says:

    I was quite happy about the May release date, because it really bugged me when TFA was announced for December. Star Wars is always in May dammit!

    This is what I was hoping for from a spin-off. No young Han Solo, no solo Qui-Gon or Mace Windu adventure – a new character who isn’t a Jedi or close to one of the main characters.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I think a Boba Fett movie would be boring but I’m not sure if I’d care a whole lot about a random character with no connection to the larger saga as a whole either.

  6. Keith Palmer Says:

    Aware of how The Force Awakens was pushed back, I admit I’m wondering a little if Episode 8’s production will stay on schedule, especially with less than a year and a half separating the two… For some reason, too, I’m wondering a bit about just when Episode 9 will follow: they’ll either “run that much more quickly,” or “we’ll be waiting that much longer.”

    I must admit it’s a little harder today than it was yesterday for me to just shrug off all thoughts of “spinoff one,” although if the talk gets to “at last a female character to live up to Leia’s example” it may get easier again… It may also be far too much to wish for that the possibility of this being “the live-action equivalent of Rebels” means it’ll actually draw on design elements from all six “Lucasfilm movies.”

    • zch81721 Says:

      Part of the delay has to deal with Abrams just being incompetent at sticking with a schedule. At this point I could care less about Rogue One (who knows maybe the trailer will change my mind). As of now from what I am hearing I just want to skip episode 7 and go straight to 8. I have more faith in Johnson than I do Abrams.

  7. maychild Says:

    It’s “couldn’t care less,” not “could care less.” 😉

Leave a Reply

