ThinkGeek Up To No Good Again

A few years ago I started boycotting Think Geek because of the retailer’s jabs against the prequels. And it hardly ever carried anything that in any remote way refers to those movies anyway.

Last year I dropped my boycott when the jabs seemingly went away and actually bought a couple of things. But like the dog returning to its vomit, TG is back up to its prequel-hating tricks. The site still doesn’t carry very much that references the prequels but it was running a 20% off one day promo and I thought I’d check it out to see if by some miracle its overpriced $35 scarf from Her Universe was on sale. I spotted a ladies tee with the periodic table but it featured Star Wars characters, from all of the movies. I was shocked! You know how rare it is to find anything that includes the whole saga. It was only 20 bucks and 20% off.

But then I made the error of reading the description: “Some things can be classified; others can’t. Actually, those things normally can, too, you just have to make more categories. Like Star Wars characters. Some are for freedom and some are for oppression. While others, are just for themselves. And then there are characters like Jar Jar. In order to classify him, we have to create a new category: mistakes.” It might be a slight but I’m sick of slights. There are no slights like that with any of the other Star Wars products, not even with the women’s Ewok hoodie. TG doesn’t treat the prequels or its fans with respect, so it doesn’t deserve my business and it doesn’t deserve yours either.

The crappy thing is the t-shirt is an exclusive, so I can’t buy it from another site unless it turns up on Zulily.

Tags:

9 Responses to “ThinkGeek Up To No Good Again”

  1. discoewok Says:

    Be sure to let them know they lost a sale! Money talks.

  2. Slicer87 Says:

    Tell them Jar-Jar bashing is so 1999, its ancient. Which it is really.

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      At least Jar Jar is a character with a personality. Boba Fett was nothing but an easily-disposed prop until Lucas gave him some context in Clones, and even then he’s just a second-rate copy of a much more capable and interesting Hunter.

      Ooh, that didn’t feel good, did it? I’ll admit I didn’t like writing that. Tell you what: I’ll stop if you will!

      ***Obviously this was directed at the bashers and nobody on this website***

      • peacetrainjedi Says:

        Lol, Adam!

        I truly am amazed Jango doesn’t have a greater following. He exudes awesomeness in every frame of AOTC. Boba works well in AOTC too. As for ROTJ…not so much. The one random goon on Jabba’s skiff who managed to shoot Luke in the hand comes across as more dangerous than Boba “slowly digested” Fett does…

    • Slicer87 Says:

      Hi Adam, I wasn’t bashing Jar-jar who is a much more rounded than Boba ever was. Just pointing out they are egurgitating the same old, tired, mindless, and baseless tripe. Boba has always been overhyped by fans.

      Think Geek has lost sales from me.

  3. starwarsanon Says:

    I’m glad other people are just as confused by the Boba obsessives as I am.

  4. Megan Says:

    I am actually getting close to the point I’m really fed up with ThinkGeek. Not the prequel problem; I’ve learned to completely tune that out because otherwise I might never go anywhere or do anything. But more and more in the last couple of years, they have lost sight of what it is to be Geek. They aren’t ThinkGeek anymore; it ought to be “don’t-think-pop-culture.” More and more of my friends are frustrated and bored by their selection. Used to be, I could rack up a hundred dollars in ten minutes, and now I struggle to find a use for even a small coupon. I think they need to touch up their roots — or mindlessly go the way of every other pop culture dealer out there.

Leave a Reply

