Top 10 Anakin/Padmé Moments (According To Me)

Since the official Star Wars site has ignored Anakin and Padmé, only one of the most consequential relationships in the entire series, for Valentine’s Day, I thought I’d come up with my own Top 10 Anakin and Padmé moments from the movies.

(I know this isn’t every “moment” from the films, not even every moment I love, but I’m limiting it to ten.)

10. “Are you an angel?”

The future lovebirds meet for the first time with a classic pick-up line.

9. Anakin gives Padmé the japor snippet for good luck

Japor

His first token of affection, which Padmé will carry to her grave.

8. Padmé and Anakin’s dinner date

00~4

Where Anakin impresses Padmé by floating her fruit and talking about “aggressive negotiations.”

7. Teasing a Senator

picnic~0

Two pretty people in a pretty field.

6. “You are in my very soul, tormenting me”

14~20

Anakin gets serious

5. “Ani, I’m pregnant”

Padmé has some very important news

4. First kiss

Padmé, you tease!

3. “I truly deeply love you…”

Finally she comes around

2. The wedding

dvdwedding2

Sealing the deal

1. “Ruminations”

Perhaps one of Lucas’s most effective scenes ever

Tags: , , ,

13 Responses to “Top 10 Anakin/Padmé Moments (According To Me)”

  1. Daniel Savard Says:

    No TCW scenes? There were some pretty good ones spread throughout the 6 seasons IMO.

    • peacetrainjedi Says:

      Maybe another top 10 list, perhaps? Their scene from “Hostage Crisis” where she ends up with Anakin’s lightsaber comes to mind, as do many moments from the various Clovis episodes…

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I’d have to do top 25 scenes, at least! Maybe another time.

  2. peacetrainjedi Says:

    Awesome list LP. It’s a shame starwars.com hasn’t hired you as an official writer. Your top 10 moments are all fantastic. I agree with all the moments on your list, but I would order them slightly differently. Although the Ruminations scene gives me the most chills and has the best cinematography of anything on this list, I feel the best Anakin/Padme moment is bar none the “Are you an Angel?” scene. Gets me every single time. After that I would put the Ruminations scene, then the dinner date to round out my top three. Something about using the force to levitate fruit…

  3. jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

    Their first meeting and the “Are you an Angel” line I think is what has stuck with me the most because it was so sweet and philosophy-laden.

    Anything “cute” and “sweet” is hated on by the detractors because they are all too “mature” and hip for such nonsense! This scene is sweeter than a teen pop song, but these types of scenes were always integral to the films.

    BTW…George Lucas will be appearing on the Saturday Night Live 40th anniversary special on 75% Off Chocolate Candy Day (Sunday). Still no word on Jar Jar or Howard the Duck.

  4. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    I always liked #5 from day 1. It’s that first moment of “oh crap,” followed by all the positive parent hormones kicking in. Perfection.

  5. Nick Skywalker Says:

    Love all these scenes. My favorite A/P scene is a tie between when he promises to her that he won’t let her die and the “hold me” scene that everyone hates.

  6. Carsten Says:

    Love them all.

  7. lazypadawan Says:

    Moons of Iego’s Facebook page is doing its own top 10 moments:

    https://www.facebook.com/moonsofiego

  8. PrinceOfNaboo Says:

    Great list.

    I think I’m about to make my own list as well 🙂

  9. Bob Clark Says:

    Sad to say, you missed one of my favorite bits. Same scene, but still, the thing that really gets me about the wedding scene is Padme taking Anakin’s robotic hand. It’s a wonderful symbol of how she accepts all that he is, and what he’s becoming. It’s both a beautiful loving moment, and a foreshadowing of doom, a sci-fi death and the maiden sort of thing.

  10. Kathryn “LadyJediScientist” S. Says:

    Lovely list! I was so disappointed with the starwars.com list this year. 😦 Please do one for The Clone Wars, including the microseries!

Leave a Reply

