More Evidence Of A Digital Release Of Eps I-VI?

Some outfit called Andrew’s Toyz (via Furious Fanboys) posted pictures of an upcoming “digital release commemorative set” of action figures from Eps I-VI. Gee, you think that means we can see the saga on Netflix or iTunes soon?

Tags: ,

17 Responses to “More Evidence Of A Digital Release Of Eps I-VI?”

  1. Nobody Says:

    Amazing that in this entire set, there’s only one female figure– Padme from TPM. And not even in her Amidala duds (I’d have preferred they go with her AOTC Emma Peel suit). I’m so disappointed we don’t see anything else– absolutely no Leia figures, in particular. Really? We need both Bossk and IG-88, but no Leia? Hell, no Lando? Way to show your priorities, guys.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I agree it’s a weird assortment. Need more Leia!

      • M. Marshall Says:

        Yeah, put them in outfits that haven’t been in action figure form yet. Leia in her Yavin IV dress, Padme in her Naboo parade dress. Heck, even Mon Mothma or Aayla Secura would’ve been cool.

      • Nobody Says:

        Yeah, Mon Mothma. If you’re gonna make a figure out of somebody who’s in one scene, do it for somebody who had lines at least.

    • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

      And C-3PO twice?!

    • Jim Raynor Says:

      Disney has taken a lot of criticism about the exclusion of female characters from their action movie merchandise. There was a controversy last year about how Leia merchandise couldn’t be found in Disney stores even though Luke and Han stuff was abundant. The Avengers and Guardians of the Galaxy sets also blatantly exclude their female members.

      • Slicer87 Says:

        I am surprised they didn’t at least have Leia in her slave girl outfit ffor the ROTJ set.

        I think the problem is mainly due with marketing. When it comes to toylines for boys, female action figures don’t sell to well except for adult collectors. Overall I think the sets are weird and most of the figures had already been released before hand.

  2. Hunk a Junk Says:

    Strap in for the inevitable whining and pearl-clutching about “which versions” are digitally released. If the Netflix version of ANH has Greedo shooting one frame (1/24th of a second) sooner than Han, you know the member review section is going to be spammed with the usual “raped my childhood” “why can’t we see the REAL version” crapola.

  3. madmediaman Says:

    I’m going to laugh my ass off at the whiners and Lucas bashes when they learn these release are the Blu-Ray edits of the Saga. It’s going to be glorious.

    • Hunk a Junk Says:

      I’ll be honest, it won’t be fun for me. I’m beyond sick of the constant bitching and the complete lack of understanding about an artist’s right to create work as they see fit. It’s also sickening to page through the Netflix member reviews of the remastered Star Trek episodes to see so many fans bitching about… wait for it… George Lucas. Who had nothing to do with Star Trek.

      • M. Marshall Says:

        Most of these “geeks” are dumb as dirt.

      • Jim Raynor Says:

        Like the now discredited trope about “nice guys,” one of the great myths spawned by eighties and nineties entertainment is that geeks are all intellectuals. Watching the same movie a hundred times or liking cartoons and comic books doesn’t make you smart. As I’ve gotten to know more geeks throughout my life, I’ve come to the conclusion that the common denominator isn’t intelligence but rather poor socialization and too much time on their hands, along with various emotional issues.
        I’ve dealt with some of that myself, but over the years I’ve realized what a self-defeating waste of time most of the geek subculture is. I’m still a geek and I love the same entertainment, but it’s all a hobby to me now. It’s amazing how much of the fanboy crap just fades from importance once you do something as simple as focusing on your job, relationships, or even a daily workout routine.
        Aside from the occasional post over here, I’ve mostly pulled out of the fan forums. That includes places where I had influence as a longtime member with lots of people who agreed with me. Those places are mostly negativity from the loudest and most unbalanced fans. That’s why I shake my head when fans and the media portray these people as “the fans” and expect creators to bow to their demands. The 99% who actually show up in theaters usually doesn’t care about what they have to say.

      • Tony Ferris Says:

        Very well said, Jim. I am in full agreement.

        I still take an interest in all those things I always did, but I’ve found I enjoy it all much more once I ignore the chatter. It’s mostly useless to be honest.

      • Tarrlok Says:

        I still can’t figure out for the life of me what makes “geek culture” meaningfully different from “mainstream culture”.

      • Slicer87 Says:

        Tarrlok, I think “geek culture” is just buzz word and PR spin. I agree with your post Jim, very well said.

  4. piccolojr1138 Says:

    There will be the battle of Coruscant and some clone wars stuff on the new Battlefront.

    http://makingstarwars.net/2015/02/tons-star-wars-battlefront-rumors-links-star-wars-force-awakens/

    • Anonymous Says:

      Is it me, or did the details relating to TFA basically confirm the main two factions in the movie are the Republic (as in, not Rebels) vs. the Empire?

Leave a Reply

