SWPAS Open Thread: Eppy VII Gets A Title

And it’s “The Force Awakens,” forever known as “TFA.”

What do you think? Does this confirm a rumor there will be a very short teaser coming this month (I say it does, otherwise there’s no reason to drop the title now)?

What about TFN’s Eric Geller confirming Episode VII is not part of the title? Kyle Newman thinks they are trying to “erase I-III.” Personally, I think as the 7th film that starts chronologically with TPM, it should keep the numbering! Respect Lucas’s vision!

Tags:

30 Responses to “SWPAS Open Thread: Eppy VII Gets A Title”

  1. Eduardo Jencarelli Says:

    I think it’ll still keep the number, at least for the opening crawl.

    I think they’re only removing it for promotional purposes (posters, trailers, etc.).

    Imagine how many viewers who haven’t seen Star Wars would react to an episode 7: “Oh lord, I have to watch six other films to understand this one?”

    • Eduardo Vargas Says:

      That’s exactly what I think. I don’t believe they are trying to erase the prequels (Kyle is just knee-jerking here) but it’s instead a marketing thread to lure in children and people that have never seen it before. It’s a bit daunting for those who have never seen Star Wars to be immediately thrust in into the idea of having to watch 6 films before this.

      As far as the title goes, I think it’s a great one. It makes sense to me the the Force has Awakened now that it has been balanced ( I assume so) and it’s not disturbed out of the natural order of things. It also ties in great with the idea of moral and philosophical themes this trilogy is supposed to be about.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      The thing is, you probably would have to! That’s the difference between a “prequel” and a “sequel.”

  2. peacetrainjedi Says:

    Yeah, I hope it keeps the numbering at the very least in the opening crawl as well.

    I like the title well enough, though i wish it would have been just an adjective, followed by a noun to match the other trilogy openers The Phantom Menace and A New Hope.

    Something like The ____ Force (Along the lines of “The Unifying Force,” a name taken already by a past EU work) or just about any interesting adjective before the word “Force” would have worked for me. That minor quibble aside, I think the title works well for a Star Wars film. Of infinite more importance than the title, however, is the film itself. We shall have to wait and see.

    • Nobody Says:

      Man, if it had been “The Living Force”, that would’ve been a great indication that the PT wasn’t thrown under the bus.

  3. piccolojr1138 Says:

    (sorry for grammar mistakes, I’m french)

    Well, I don’t think we should get paranoid. I think the obvious reason is that young people and newcomers could think that they won’t understand the story if they don’t know the six previous films very well.

    I think The Force Awakens will be an entrance door for the saga, like A New Hope and The Phantom Menace before it. And it is totally the way of George Lucas to make the new trilogy accessible for a new generation.

  4. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Slightly pretentious, but intriguing as to what it could mean…

  5. J.Bradley Says:

    I wouldn’t sweat the episode numbering too much. I think they’re trying to bring back the sense we had in the 70’s an 80’s when you only called the Star Wars movie by its title, not by its episode number. Sure, us fans know what episode it is – and certainly the episode number will appear in the opening title crawl. But that importance of marketing the early episodes as being the earliest in the chronology of the saga is really done and over with and we get back to following the saga the way we did in the old days.
    Plus Disney probably likes it as it saves them a bit on typesetting.

  6. Keith Palmer Says:

    I admit there have been times when I have the feeling “Episode I” was just supposed to be the placeholder before the “big reveal,” but kept getting emphasized after that first unfortunate flareup of “titlewank”…

    Now, I also admit, I’m wondering if this title (which does seem to me to have arrived “early”) is being greeted in certain other circles with no reaction more involved than the familiar “George Lucas isn’t on the set; therefore this will be a great movie!” honeymoon. Nevertheless, if we’re being allowed in any way to continue considering “the six numbered movies” as a self-contained unit with a bunch of spinoffs and followups trailing along to be accepted or not in the way I wound up with the “other media” spinoff and followups, I may not be completely opposed to that.

    For some reason, I’ve long had the impression “everyone” was expecting “the Force” to be in the upcoming “Episode I” title, which may only bring to mind the suspicions of some about “trying to start over.” All the same, though, I can tell myself that at least we don’t have “Entering the Dark Side” or “Meet the New Empire; Same as the Old Empire” in this title…

  7. jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

    I wish they would have not directly referenced a concept, place or character by name. Episode I and IV did not do this and the structure of the titles are supposed to follow their respective episodes, chronologically, in the previous trilogies.

    The title also does not sound like a “movie serial” chapter title the way many of the other titles do.

    I know George commented that he knew the people who hated the “Phantom Menace” title would also hate the movie. I think that title perfectly captured the essence of Star Wars though.

    It does, however, evoke a sense of mystery the way TPM and ANH did. The Force Awakens…from what and for whom? Wasn’t it already awakened back in Episode VI?

    I believe the reason why George put “Episode I” in the title was to drive home the fact that this was a prequel and not a sequel. I believe it was either Mark Hamill or Anthony Daniels that said no matter how many times they explained to people that it was a prequel and not a sequel they were still confused.

    So I do not mind that they did not include it in the title. I always thought it made the actual title seem less important anyway.

    I do have to wonder if George actually came up with this title though, since it is a bit different. I do not think an executive came up with it just because the title is weird.

  8. Hunk a Junk Says:

    Here’s my take: Meh. “The Force Awakens” has the slightly pretentious ‘we take this waaaay’ too seriously’ aroma of fan fiction. I was hoping for something a bit more playful and pulpy — in the spirit of the serials and 1930s radio plays (kind of like the cheesy newsreels of The Clone Wars episodes — love those!). We’ll see if any of that spirit makes it into the movie itself. I have no doubt, however, that the “Episode VII” will be in the opening crawl. The lack of Roman numerals in the logo and in promotions only signals that audiences can expect this to be a movie that can be enjoyed without memorizing Wookieepedia beforehand.

    • jarjarbacktattooguy Says:

      Yes, it sounds like a serious sci-fi or horror title.

      It specifically reminds me of the whole telekinesis/esp “chicks with powers” horror sub-genre of the late 70s, of which Star Wars was a spiritual cousin.

      Carrie, The Medusa Touch, The Fury, The Initiation of Sarah, The Eyes of Laura Mars, The Shining…The Force Awakens!

    • Tony Ferris Says:

      I agree with everything you’re saying here.

    • PrinceOfNaboo Says:

      Yes, the title sounds way too serious or bumptious.

      And I’m a bit afraid that this indicates some kind of “Force retcon” – like the “real” Force was only discovered/awakened with Luke and now works independently of the “midichlorian stuff”.

      I’m fine with them dealing with the mythology of SW and extending it, but as … non-creators they have no right to retcon the past, IMO.

  9. discoewok Says:

    My favorite part of the title is “Star Wars”.

  10. M. Marshall Says:

    My only guess is that if it’s called “The Force Awakens”, then that means it’s about Luke’s rebuilding of the Jedi order, kind of like Kevin J. Anderson’s “Jedi Academy” trilogy.

  11. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    I guess it’s okay. To be honest, the STAR WARS subtitles have never struck me as dazzling anyway.

  12. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    I’m sorry, but something just occurred to me. What do they mean by “The Force Awakens”? What exactly is this movie suppose to hint? The Force is “always” awaken, no matter what state it is in.

    • M. Marshall Says:

      Good point. The Force was awaken the minute audiences saw Luke enter Jabba’s palace in full jedi gear.

      • M. Marshall Says:

        Correction: it was very much alive on Dagobah and Yavin.

      • Aeryn Says:

        Indeed. I would argue even before that, as it was already “aware” that it needed to conceive a Chosen One to restore balance and destroy the Sith. But I’m holding off final judgment on the title until there’s better context available. And who knows, this could all be an elaborate red herring ala “Revenge of the Jedi,” a concept which didn’t make sense either.

      • J . Bradley Says:

        I remember when The Empire Strikes Back title was released – which I thought THEN sounded pretty hokey – that it was pretty early before premiere of the movie on that they released it. There’s a lot of reasons both for awareness and licensing reasons they’re doing it NOW.

  13. lovelucas Says:

    So lame. The Force never needs awakening nor reawakening …it just IS. And this is the title- in larger than life letters and it feels so damn retrospectively manipulative.
    and for wiw: I DO indeed agree with Kyle – Disney et al are trying and being very Empirish about the procedure – to erase the prequels. He’s not delusional. It is happening. Received recent email from Nick G…. he diplomatically agrees.

    • piccolojr1138 Says:

      What if the title was from Lucas ? Many seem to forget he wrote the treatments for the new three films.

      • lovelucas Says:

        IMO – it’s not from George. Doesn’t even sound like him.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Nope. Wasn’t from Lucas. CEO Bob Iger told Bloomberg News that it was basically determined by committee: “It was a decision that was made by a few people who are involved in the process; [Kathleen Kennedy], who runs Lucasfilm for us, and J.J. Abrams, who’s directing the Force Awakens… were involved in the decision, as were we. We feel great about the film and can’t wait until it comes out.”

      • piccolojr1138 Says:

        You’re right, I’ve read it too. But I still think many people forget that Lucas initiated Episodes VII-VIII-IX and wrote the treatments. So at least some ideas will come from him !

  14. Gallandro Says:

    Star Wars: The Force Awakens to the Aroma of Coffee
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens and Hits the Snooze
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens With a Brisk Shower
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens Before You Go Go

    And my personal favorite:
    Star Wars: The Force Awakens Ned Devine

  15. lovelucas Says:

    “Decision by committee” and that’s exactly what it sounds like. They’re taking the heart out of Star Wars. I am beyond sad at the prospect.

    • slicer87 Says:

      Agreed, Committees, teams, and other groups often develop groupthink and make poor decisions. It is a deeply troubling thought.

Leave a Reply

