10 Years of ROTS: Teaser Trailer Debuted 11/4/04

It was a decade ago this week that the first teaser trailer for ROTS debuted for all of the world to see. How many of you ran out to see “The Incredibles” at least in part to catch this trailer? How many of you saw it on the internet? Or on t.v.?

Tags:

4 Responses to “10 Years of ROTS: Teaser Trailer Debuted 11/4/04”

  1. BansheeGun Says:

    I saw it with The Incredibles! (It took me a while to think of what film I saw it with.) I remember, when the trailer just started, turning to my friend and saying something like “Oh, it’s just a trailer for the Original film DVD releases” and then when I saw Mustafar I said “No, It’s Episode 3!!!”. I didn’t have access to the Internet until 2008 so you can imagine how in-the-dark I was for so long! It did make trailer “debuts” in theaters more exciting for me though!

  2. M. Marshall Says:

    I saw the teaser when I bought Star Wars: Clone Wars Vol. 1 on DVD. It was part of the bonus features.

  3. Keith Palmer Says:

    Although I’m certain I watched the online version of this trailer as soon as it was available, I did go to The Incredibles “in part,” as you said, so I could say I’d “seen a Star Wars trailer at the movies.” (Just as an aside, it was a lot more fun as a total experience than when I went to see Cloverfield a few years later because it had the Star Trek teaser attached…) Then, as it turned out, I was lucky enough for this trailer (if not the later one) to also be shown when I went to see The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

    Bringing this up does get me wondering if a list could be made of the movies the Star Wars trailers were “officially” attached to, and of the trailers that were officially attached to them. I suppose I might be a little concerned this might hint at how each of the movies was being interpreted by the marketing executives, though…

  4. PrinceOfNaboo Says:

    I saw the teaser about two years later on the DVD 🙂

    I have to say I probably prefer the teaser trailers of all three prequel films to the actual longer trailers.

Leave a Reply

