Flashback Friday: Burger King And ROTS

ROTS restored Star Wars’s tie with fast food after a hiatus with AOTC. It was a return to one Star Wars’s original licensees, Miami-based Burger King. Burger King had done tie-ins with ANH, TESB, and ROTJ. I have the glasses to prove it! In 8th grade, one of my friends whose dad was an exec at BK got to go to the local press screening/premiere of ROTJ, making her the first person at my school to see it. (I’ll never forget how everyone was asking her about it and I’m saying, “Don’t tell me anything!!” Even though the stupid Miami Herald had already given away the Luke and Leia spoiler.)

There was of course a contest with cash, prizes, and of course free food. ROTS made me gain quite a bit of weight because I had to get the different burger and fry boxes, including the gut-wrenching super sizes. Thank God Disney’s official fast food deal is with Subway.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Flashback Friday: Burger King And ROTS”

  1. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    I remember those Saga toys that they ran, and I went so often to get as many as I could, I still didn’t get nearly a third, but I did get the special rare Vader-With-Anakin-Inside. Aside from that, they’re in storage right now, but I think the list was:
    Luke
    Leia
    Padmé
    Mace
    Jar Jar
    Jabba
    Watto
    Boga
    Landspeeder
    Han
    I may be forgetting one or two…

  2. lovelucas Says:

    I sooooo wanted the entire watch set and the display that came with them. I did get most of the watches but the display I wound up with – and still have…on display in a bedroom – is the DVD holder of Vader from Toys R Us. I have the life-size cut out of all things Anakin – also all on display. I have a blast at Halloween opening the door to trick or treaters 🙂

Leave a Reply

