Shakespearean TPM Adaptation Coming Next Year

Author Ian Doescher has already “translated” Eps IV-VI into a form Shakespeare would’ve written and just when you thought, “Well, I guess that’s it then,” here comes the news a TPM version is set for publication April 7, 2015.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Shakespearean TPM Adaptation Coming Next Year”

  1. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    Good! I was just saying that I-III is far more of a Shakespearean tragedy than IV-VI and should have been done first.

  2. M. Marshall Says:

    I think this further proves that the PT is starting to get the respect it deserves. I found this article on observationdeck.io9.com that points out five good things about the PT. And the comments are quite pleasing as well: http://observationdeck.io9.com/5-things-the-star-wars-prequels-did-right-1624100988

    • PrinceOfNaboo Says:

      I have a hard time to respect people who start to apologize even before they’ve written a single word: “I’m going to say some positive words about the Prequels. Please don’t hate me, of course they’re not good films – at any rate not as magic as the other three. You’re right, you’re right, I’m just drunken, normally I adhere to our wonderful rule of standardized thinking”.

      Embarrassing.
      Nevertheless, a few postive words are better than none!

      • M. Marshall Says:

        I think this was more positive than most other articles. I was very impressed.

      • PrinceOfNaboo Says:

        Absolutely! I was particularly surprised that he named the Chose One! I just didn’t like his apologetic introduction (” I’m not saying they’re the equal of the original trilogy or even necessarily good films, but they’re not completely irredeemable either.”)

        Btw, I’ve just skipped though the “contributors” on SW.com and I was again bored by the stereotypical “Favourite Film: TESB” responses. I mean, there is nothing wrong with ESB being a lot of people’s favourite film, BUT what’s the point of different “contributors” when they’re all apporaching Star Wars from the same angle and like the same things about it?
        Pretty pointless, imo.

      • M. Marshall Says:

        Every time I see someone list TESB as their favorite Star Wars film, I give an inward groan. Doesn’t anybody think outside the box? It’s like if every fan named Batman as their favorite DC superhero. If you were to ask me my favorite SW film, it would be ROTJ (and my favorite DC hero is Wonder Woman, btw).

      • Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

        I never got into DC aside from Barman, but I came by my love of the Bat-Mythos honestly, and I gave up on issue-to-issue comics in general a long time ago as being something for me.

        I’ll admit I had my “Empire is clearly the best” phase in high school. Then I realized that being that pretentious is annoying and I matured somewhat. I started looking at what I liked about each film (and, well, films in general). And I realized that the stuff in Empire that made it my favorite – the Dagobah scenes – was so short compared to the stuff that bored me – the Han/Leia/Lando story – and the other films kept me more consistently involved, even though I liked those short scenes better than most of some of the others.

        Then, I just got sick of hearing about it, especially people going gaga over parts I didn’t care for. And then bashing Phantom which, when I watched it again in 3D, I realized didn’t have a single “losing interest” scene like Empire did.

        Like I said before, weird relationship, me and Empire.

Leave a Reply

