Rumors Of An Obi-Wan Flick

Making Star Wars.net posted a bunch of Ep VII rumors on Friday (if you feel like being spoiled go look it up), but there was one non-Ep VII rumor about an Obi-Wan spinoff film. Quoted from MSW quoted from Club Jade:

’ve heard from quite a few people now that an Obi-Wan Kenobi movie is in the works. For the spin-off movies they were initially going to stay away from any Jedi or Sith characters. But I’m hearing now that because of the popularity of Obi-Wan (fans recently voting for him on the official website etc) that an art team is now working with a writer on concepts for an Obi-Wan movie.

I’ll believe it when I see it (after all, no one has officially confirmed what any of the spinoffs thus far are about) and if it’s true, they damn well better bring back Ewan.

Tags: ,

30 Responses to “Rumors Of An Obi-Wan Flick”

  1. Hunk a Junk Says:

    I’ll be the first to shout loudly that if they are doing an Obi-Wan film, and they tap Ewan to star, then Disney should give the director chair to Dave Filoni. No one beside George knows the character better.

    • Wizardman Says:

      Yes, please. Don’t let Whitta or anyone like him near an Obi-Wan movie…. If he has no respect for the trajectory of Obi-Wan’s younger character and the adventures he’s had, I don’t think he should have a say on what this fan favorite should be seen doing next.

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        Whitta shouldn’t be allowed anywhere near Star Wars period. He’s an arrogant ass who pissed all over George Lucas and now wants to cash checks from the very company Lucas created. He’s cancer and Kennedy should’ve quickly shown him the door the moment Whitta’s online comments came to light. Until she does, Kennedy owns those comments. Whitta’s continued employment is a tactic approval of his toxic views. Sad.

      • PrinceOfNaboo Says:

        I agree. Whitta ist a no-go.

        While many of Disney’s decisions are annoying and somehow dishonest, I can still understand them from their business standpoint. Despite the PT’s financial and polular success, haters have sadly managed to create a negative mood around them. So I understand their desire to “shut” them in some way.

        Hiring Whitta, on the other hand, is inacceptable and leads me to the conclusion that either Kennedy’s character is questionable (in case she hired him aware of his comments) or incompetent (didn’t know about it or didn’t care) or is a lame duck with no real power in the company.
        No option is a compliment.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Hunk, while I can absolutely understand your frustration – heck, there is a ton of writers out there they could have chosen instead – I think that your choice of words is not the best.

        Anyway, Whitta should definitely apologize for what he said.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        I meant “writers out there that at least respect the Prequels”.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Well, I would not necessarily call Kennedy incompetent if she was not aware of his forum comments. Was it easy to find them? Has Whitta said other stuff in public?
        Still, it would be interesting to know what she thought when she learned from the existence of the comments…

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        Stefan, I hear you, respect you, almost always agree with you. However, I stand by my choice of words. They’re far milder and more restrained than the f-bombs Whitta hurled at George and then cowardly tried to erase when the opportunity came to financially benefit from George’s creation.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        I think it speaks volumes that no one has addressed this at all. But it probably didn’t help that hardly any fan sites even mentioned it.

      • BansheeGun Says:

        Stefan, his comments were plastered all over Star Wars media for over a week. Lucasfilm and Disney employees HAD to have seen them. What I don’t get is how many fans were actually okay with what he said. I remember Kotaku’s article praising what he said nearly made me punch a wall. I lost all respect for Making Star Wars when they defended him too (Not that I really respected them anyway, I hardly go on their site).

      • lazypadawan Says:

        Kotaku’s one to talk…I’m LOL-ing at how it’s embroiled in #GamerGate now. I hate Gawker media in general.

        I share your disappointment in how many in the fan media decided to give Whitta and Co. a pass. The few that addressed it kind of shrugged it off (MSW’s excuse was well, at least it wasn’t part of the Skywalker saga). SWPAS was one of the few that called ’em out. But you know something, the fan media has been extremely deferential to everything that’s been happening since the Disney takeover. Nobody questions anything and even the most infuriating and painful decisions are met with at most a shrug or a chipper “let’s be happy because the best is yet to come!”

      • Wizardman Says:

        I don’t think it’s fair to say that Kennedy either agrees with Whitta’s comments, is incompetent, or is a lame duck with no real power. Maybe she simply respects his work enough to stick with him despite his questionable character/statements. Still frustrating to me but a tiny bit more respectable. :/

      • BansheeGun Says:

        Could these Star Wars media sites who defended him have done so out of fear that they could lose press access to future events? That’s what I thought when I read the MSW article on Whittas comments.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        My theory is yes, they do worry about losing access. Some of these people are also friendly with Lucasfilm employees and well, it’s always hard to criticize your friends. But you also have to remember they are primarily fans, not journalists or reporters, and fans want to cheer on their team.

  2. susanbowes Says:

    I would love to see a spin-off Star Wars movie with Obi-Wan as the main character, but ONLY if Ewan McGregor portrayed him. No one else can ever replace Ewan in my opinion. (with the exception of the original Alec Guinness of course)

  3. Bob Clark Says:

    What would even be the point of doing a live-action Obi-Wan film without Ewan? Would it simply be to piss off PT era fans?

    • Stefan Kraft Says:

      Who could they cast instead? Even hateboys seem to like Ewan, and Ewan himself seems to be more than ready to reprise the role.

  4. Dawn Says:

    I know it’s not related to this, but I wasn’t sure where else to share it or if you’d come across it yet, but….yeah, so this is a link someone posted, which just now came across my FB feed, and I’m admittedly incredibly incensed by it….really strikes me as Anthony Daniels throwing the prequels, and George Lucas, and everyone who worked so passionately, so hard on those movies – also we who love them – just right the hell under the bus. I can’t….I can’t even….I really thought the man had more class than that. 😦 😦

    http://comicbook.com/2014/09/16/star-wars-episode-viis-anthony-daniels-confirms-practical-c-3po-/

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I didn’t read the article because I was afraid that was going to happen. Just confirms it then. He was hanging out with Simon Pegg recently after all.

      Update: Just read it. You’re right Dawn. Not very cool of him at all. “Gee, good thing Lucas isn’t doing this anymore because he was so out of ideas!” WTF is that?

      • Brian Says:

        Well, there is that portion of his statement that could be interpreted that way, but his comment about critics overall is very insightful. He addresses the criticism that affected the prequels from certain fans, how they weren’t approaching the new films from the same vantage point and how none of this entire franchise would exist without Lucas, that he above reproach, in a way. I agree with him, I never understand the fans that attack Lucas personally when he crafts the story as he sees fit, as if they think the Star Wars saga is some sort of community effort that he co-opted. I think Daniels finds that attitude as rude and unappreciative as I do.

      • lazypadawan Says:

        That’s fine but then he says Lucas ran out of ideas and lost track of what made Star Wars good, so he was happy to see him out of there.

      • madmediaman Says:

        It’s kind of funny and sad, but I’ve been going through a process of a slow divorce from Star Wars for the past few months. I still keep up with news, but by and large the franchise holds little interest to me.now

        1) Rebels: I originally held out a lot of hope for Rebels due to Filoni’s involvement… unfortunately what I’ve seen has been incredibly uninteresting. The 7 minute extended preview was pretty solid, but the four shorts that recently came out bordered on painful to watch. Stormtroopers have been turned from menacing soldiers of evil in the movies to bumbling stooges who come across more like disgruntled mall cops that soldiers of the Empire… I did like New Dawn though, so we shall see

        2) Episode VII: Pretty much zero interest now. The nonsensical “we’re using practical effects and sets in this movie… unlike those OTHER movies” mantra, and the new “this movie is about characters” garbage coming from the production has only made me bitter how Lucas is being treated. In fact, I’ve heard almost ZERO mention of George any more…he’s been relegated to an afterthought.

        Ummmm you do realize you are playing in a universe he created, right? You’re employed because of the success of George’s efforts. How about showing some effin’ gratitude, is that too much to ask?

        3) Spin offs: No thanks, Garry Whitta being handed writing duties pretty much eliminated any desire I had to see a spinoff.

        THE ONLY EXCEPTION I might make is an Obi-Wan film, especially if it were given to someone like Filoni who actually understands the franchise

        4) Tie-In Products: Uhhh yeah, so the best Marvel could come up with is YET ANOTHER comic series set in the immediate weeks of the Death Star being destroyed… we’ve already had two series dedicated to that in addition to a number of comic miniseries. Certainly sounds like the Star Wars Story Group is bringing all of their creativity to this project (that’s sarcasm by the way).

        So, as I’ve said, it’s been a slow divorce, but I’ve been blessed with countless hours of entertainment thanks to George and the other creative minds who brought me spin off comics and novels from1977-2014… I’m sure my attitude would be completely different if the people involved in the franchise today didn’t go out of their way to crap on the creator of the Saga.

        It’s been a fun ride, and thank you again George for the gift of your creation which was an important part of my childhood. But I’ve come to the conclusion that I really don’t NEED any more Star Wars.

      • BansheeGun Says:

        If Daniels had been put in the suit during those “dangerous” stunts, and had been injured, I’m sure he would have a different view of that “awful” CG 3PO. If Daniels hated it so much, why didn’t he say something when they were filming?

    • PrinceOfNaboo Says:

      “Daniels confirms practical C-3PO.”

      Abrams confirms there will be a final film.
      Disney confirms it’s called “Episode VII”
      Kasdan confirms he wrote a script with words and sentences.
      Daisy Ridley confirms she will be practically seen in Star Wars.
      Abrams says they shot Star Wars in a studio.
      Bad Robot confirms: Cameras have been used.

      Really, those sites are not afraid to get even more ridiculous with their “headlines”. Reading this interview, I somehow see Daniel’s own brain fighting with the hater’s nonsese that flows trought the air all the time.

Leave a Reply

