Undeniable Fact About AOTC #15: It Was One Of The First To Have A Web Exclusive Trailer

When the first TPM trailer debuted in November 1998, it set all kinds of records for downloads and established a new precedent of putting trailers online instead of just expecting moviegoers to see them in the theater.

The first teaser trailer for AOTC debuted in November 2001 with the film “Monsters, Inc.,” but that one was short and had no dialogue (I think it’s called the “Breathing” trailer). The longer teaser trailer debuted later that month and it focused on Anakin and Padmé’s relationship.

This one, originally entitled “Mystery,” made its debut around the holiday season 2001, was (at least in the U.S.) a web exclusive on starwars.com. To my knowledge this was among the first, if not the first, web-exclusive clips of an upcoming film. Today it’s not only common for trailers to debut online simultaneously with their debuts at the multiplex, it’s also common for studios to post web exclusive clips or even 10-minute-long segments of the film.

Tags:

9 Responses to “Undeniable Fact About AOTC #15: It Was One Of The First To Have A Web Exclusive Trailer”

  1. Hunk a Junk Says:

    “Monsters, Inc.” not “Monsters University.” Eh, it happens.

  2. PrinceOfNaboo Says:

    I like the “Mystery” trailer best.

    I don’t think it helped the movie’s box office to keep that trailer from public eyes. The internet just wasn’t as “omnipresent” in 2001 as it is now.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I think you’re right. “Mystery” should’ve been the one shown in theaters. One day I’ll go on a rant about how AOTC was the worst-promoted film of the saga thus far.

      • PrinceOfNaboo Says:

        Oh yes, do it. I’d like to read what went wrong in your opinion. I can only say that I was 12 in 2002 and I don’t remember hearing ANYTHING about AOTC. I remember a lot promotion for Spider-Man (which came out close in time) and of course for Lord of the Rings, Potter, Matrix and whatever movies were popular back then.

        I don’t know what went wrong with AOTC, but you definitely failed when a 12-year old boy doesn’t notice there is a new Star Wars film in theaters (and I wasn’t brain-dead as I was aware of all the other competing blockbusters).

  3. Keith Palmer Says:

    I remember my brother showing me an “online-only” trailer, but I also have the recollection he could only access it while the TPM DVD was loaded in his computer’s DVD-ROM drive (which would have been much more limiting then than a mere “online exclusive”). I might be completely wrong about that second part, though.

  4. M. Marshall Says:

    I remember seeing the “Breathing” trailer on an episode of “Hot Ticket” once before AOTC came out and I was intrigued by the glimpses of imagery. Who were those children wearing head gears? Why is Obi-Wan flying through the air? Why does he looked scared? What led to Anakin and Padme’s kiss? It had me excited for episode 2 but that’s because I was 17 years old and keeping up with starwars.com.

  5. lovelucas Says:

    Any speculation regarding the lack of AotC promotion? Esp in lieu of the massive amount of blurbage for Lord of the Rings et al? This was the time to meet the challenge, not fold up shop. I do know there was a lot of disappointment on merchandise sales from TPM – (partially, imo, due to over-saturation. This is when the “Padmé doesn’t sell” rumors stated as facts began.) The Amidala dolls – there were a lot of websites that were devoted to all things Padmé Amidala, esp the costumes and the dolls but due to the perceived under-performance of TPM Amidala products, any plans to showcase the beautiful wardrobe of AotC Padmé were deep-sixed. This could have been a goldmine and actually, if there was more promotion about the storyline of AotC, perhaps, just perhaps, some of the really harsh criticism would have been blunted.This is the story of how Luke and Leia came to be but that’s not what was promoted. There was a bit of a promise of a bad ass newbie Vader. Poor Hayden – he didn’t have a prayer, did he?

    • lazypadawan Says:

      In a lot of ways, no.

      I think the core issues with AOTC’s promotion are that they didn’t know what they had and the backlash to TPM spooked them.

Leave a Reply

