Undeniable Fact About AOTC #18: It Was The Last Star Wars Film On VHS

Remember the VCR and the VHS cassette? Be kind and rewind? Fuzzies on the picture if you played it too many times?

I know it seems like it was another century but actually, the last Star Wars film released on VHS rolled out early in the 21st century. November 2002 to be exact. The DVD had become in a short period of time the dominating home video medium; TPM was the first Star Wars film issued on DVD but AOTC was the first Star Wars film issued on DVD for its first home video release (TPM came out on VHS in 2000). But since many people still had VCRs and hadn’t splurged for a DVD player (though you could play DVDs on computers and laptops by that time), Fox’s home video division released AOTC on both formats. For the record, I bought the DVD. Fox must’ve seen the writing on the wall because in 2005, ROTS was released exclusively on DVD.

Tags:

10 Responses to “Undeniable Fact About AOTC #18: It Was The Last Star Wars Film On VHS”

  1. It's a me-a. Says:

    That can’t be right. I had ROTS on VHS

    • PrinceOfNaboo Says:

      Are you from the UK?
      I’ve heard ROTS on VHS was a UK-only release.

      I’ve onced owned Episode I, II, V and VI on VHS. After I had seen ROTS on DVD, I didn’t want to buy all of the others full-prize on DVD nstantly, so I went to ebay and bought them on VHS for about 10€ altogether.

      AOTC on VHS actually had a really cool intro, hosted by 3-CPO and R2-D2. It felt like we’d once have a complete Saga that would be treated like such. In case you haven’t seen this yet, it is here:

  2. Adam D. Bram (The Nilbog) Says:

    I had this VHS. In fact I think my mother still has it somewhere.

    Oh, and off-topic: JediNews butchered my article this week, so see my blog tonight for the full one.

  3. Mike Sidious Says:

    I have all three Prequel films on VHS.
    Would you like a pic LP?

  4. Stefan Kraft Says:

    I think that they released the VHS only in the aspect ratio 4:3 and not in letterbox (16:9), contrary to the EP I VHS where you could choose between the two. Probably, Fox already considered VHS a format whose importance was declining. When the AotC VHS was released, starwars.com had an article that explained the differences between the two ratios, how they came to be etc. – quite interesting that they did it back then.

    Since LP has used an image of the German VHS, I have to share some nice trivia: as you can see, AotC has the German title “Angriff der Klonkrieger” * . Unfortunately, the back of the DVD had the typo “Angrief der Klonkrieger”. Now, this typo can easily be overlooked because the title was written in capital letters, i.e. it was “ANGRIEF”, which can be confounded with “ANGRIFF” if you look at it briefly. Still, a strange typo. I think that someone tried to sell his/her DVD on eBay stating that it was “a rare error”. Well, if you consider “rare” to be “the entire first release of a blockbuster on DVD…” 😉

    * (which literally means “Attack of the Clone Warriors” – I don’t know why they did not go for “Angriff der Klone”, and a German fansite made a joke when the German title of RotS was announced that it would be “Rache der Sithlords”.)

    • Keith Palmer Says:

      I was thinking a bit about the “only available in pan-and-scan” aspect myself. For that matter, I have an impression of there being “pan-and-scan” DVDs of most of the Star Wars movies, although nowadays with all new televisions having aspect ratios in between 4:3 and full cinematic widescreen I suppose nobody bothers with that any more.

    • Bob Clark Says:

      Quick correction– All the SW movies are shot in 2.35, not 1.78/16:9. I notice often that many people can’t seem to tell the difference, and are willing to accept seeing a movie in the limited form of 1.78 widescreen without caring about the visual information they’re still losing.

      • Stefan Kraft Says:

        Hey Clark, I indeed meant 2.35. I am aware of the letterbox stripes a SW movie (still) has on a 16:9 TV set.
        Thank you for the correction.

  5. ladylavinia1932 Says:

    “AOTC” was the last SW film I had purchased on VHS.

  6. Derek Tate Says:

    RotS was definitely released here in the UK on both DVD and VHS in late 2005…although I didn’t see many of the tapes, only in one or two shops. ASDA had it for sale, I do remember that. 😀

Leave a Reply

