Old Goofy Prequel Casting Rumors

Remember when the rumor mill claimed that Charlton Heston was going to play a Jedi Master, Kenneth Branagh was a shoo-in as Obi-Wan, and Kate Winslet, hot off of “Titanic,” was going to play…somebody? I sure do.

The Jedi News Facebook page forwarded a post on the Galaxy of Toys Podcast’s page featuring a screen cap of a page from Cinescape’s October 1998 issue. By then we all knew who was in TPM, so this sidebar was a look at the rumors that didn’t pan out. LeAnn Rimes?! Who the hell thought that? Supershadow?

Goes to show you, rumors aren’t always right! (I’m looking at you, The Hand Of Luke!)

Tags: ,

15 Responses to “Old Goofy Prequel Casting Rumors”

  1. Megan Says:

    I remember almost having a mental breakdown because NSync was supposed to have a cameo in Episode II, because Lucas’ daughter was in to them, and I was positive it would destroy the credibility of the films. Many all-caps AOL Instant Messenger convos were had about that rumor, I can tell you!

    • M. Marshall Says:

      I’m still wondering to this day if any scenes were shot with those guys. If they’re ever revealed, I like to see them.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      I was never a boy band fan myself but I thought L’Affaire N’Sync was a tad overblown. Remember when everyone thought the guy who tossed Anakin and Obi-Wan lightsabers during the Geonosis battle was Joey Fatone? Or Steve Sansweet? I guess they thought Sansweet was donating lightsabers from his collection! It turned out it was an ILM guy.

      Fatone said years later that he and one or two other N’Syncers shot some cameo/extra stuff; I don’t think Justin Timberlake was one of them. But the footage was cut.

      • Megan Says:

        I remember reading about NSync being on set, which was probably why I ended up getting so upset about it. For some reaso, I didn’t hate anybody like I hated NSync.

        Although it’s a good example of how overblown people got about some rumors, the fact that they actually shot some stuff also shows how little respect Lucas has for his fans and his own creation . . . I mean to be willing to go as far as shooting scenes with a boy band that happens to be popular at the time . . .

      • lazypadawan Says:

        How was George Lucas supposed to assume every single one of the millions of people worldwide who would’ve paid to see AOTC hated a particular group? They weren’t even going to be featured prominently, they were just extras in disguise. Had there been a cheesy musical number stuck in the movie for some reason, I could understand folks being upset. But that’s not what it was. It was just a dad doing a favor to his daughter and at the very least Joey Fatone was and still is a huge fan. A very respectful one at that, which is more than I can say about a lot of these “celebrity fans” who hover at the fringes of the galaxy. (And it wasn’t the first time famous friends of Lucas or the cast have finagled themselves bit parts or set visits.)

      • Hunk a Junk Says:

        “the fact that they actually shot some stuff also shows how little respect Lucas has for his fans and his own creation…”

        I’m sorry, but statements like this make my head explode. Even if one or two celebrities shot a cameo for a scene involving hundreds of Jedi, to accuse Lucas of a lack of respect is asinine. It’s the same old fan entitlement crap we hear from the hateboys: ‘Lucas has to do what I want because I’m such a big fan! If he doesn’t do what I want he’s disrespecting me!’

        B. S.

        Lucas owes you NOTHING! Lucas invested the majority of his life and millions of his own money to provide millions of people — all of whom have different tastes and interests — with Star Wars entertainment. Ever since Star Wars started, he’s had people telling him how to tell his story the right way (“The wookiee should wear pants!”) and how he was screwing it up (C-3PO/The Ewoks/Jar-Jar suck!) until it was eventually the “fans” getting butt-hurt about every piddly decision he makes (“I hate this band, so Lucas hates Star Wars.”). Here we have something from 12 years ago — and something that never even made the final cut — and it’s still all the motivation you need to accuse Lucas of being some big old meanie to you personally. Or to wrap your arms around Star Wars protectively and cry, “I understand Star Wars in a way you NEVER WILL, GEORGE!” Ugh. No wonder he finally just walked away. Life is too short for this baloney. Good God…

  2. M. Marshall Says:

    Fans were “still wincing from the melody of ‘Jedi Rocks'”? Ha! I love that scene in ROTJ. They should include it in all Star Wars parades (if any) along with “Goodnight, But Not Goodbye.”

  3. M. Marshall Says:

    Speaking of “The Hand of Luke” they had an interesting discussion about it on the Full of Sith podcast.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      Years ago, in my early fan fic writing days, I wrote a weird story about some primitive society that found Luke’s severed hand and worshiped it. I didn’t mean for it to be a suggestion!

  4. madmediaman Says:

    Hoping for a full blown adaptation of The Glove of Darth Vader with Adam Driver playing Trioculus.

    • lazypadawan Says:

      That would rock! Han’s floating house! The Space Pirate Boogie! KEN THE JEDI PRINCE!!1!!

      And then Episode VIII can be called “Mission To Mount Yoda.”

      (I remember buying those books for the Struzan cover art and the laughable stories.)

      • M. Marshall Says:

        When I heard the rumors about “Luke’s Hand”, that was the first thing that came to mind: “The Glove of Darth Vader”. I can picture the haters now, digging themselves an early grave– and then I come along and push them in.

    • Tarrlok Says:

      When I’d first heard that Disney was burying the old Expanded Universe, I began hoping that they’d at least use this opportunity to create something better than what had come before.

      If the Sequel Trilogy involves anything as stupid as what those rumour-mongers allege, then that hope dies.

Leave a Reply

