What I Love About The Prequels: Bethany

Bethany from The Star Wars Report submitted this entry:

“First off, I’d like to thank you guys for having this contest!

I love the prequels for many reasons, and it’s hard to put all of them into words, but I’ll try.

1. They add to the epic Star Wars universe!

2. They continue the story of Anakin Skywalker.

3. They’re visually amazing!

4. They’re awesome movies in their own right.

5. The story they tell applies to many, and not just a small group.

My other reasons are less tangible. Why does the story of the rise of Darth Vader, and the fall of Anakin Skywalker resonate with so many? Why are we heartbroken, as Padmé is, to see Anakin fall so low? Why, as we see a tear slide down a grief-stricken Anakin’s face towards the end of The Revenge of the Sith, do I feel a matching tear slide down my face?
Star Wars tells a tale of humanity, and we, as humans, identify with, and learn from, that.
The prequel trilogy shows the brokenness of humans, and their greatness. They show the horror of what you can become, when you let your fears best you. They show you how to do the right thing, no matter how impossible it seems at the time, no matter how hard.
I could go on, but I’ll let the movies speak for themselves. Go watch them! =)”

Tags:

Leave a Reply

