Camille Paglia Praises ROTS In New Book

Social critic, pop culture enthusiast, feminist, and professor Camille Paglia has a new book coming out tomorrow called “Glittering Images: A Journey Through Art From Egypt To Star Wars.” In it she devotes an entire chapter to the visual awesomeness of “Revenge of the Sith” and calls George Lucas the world’s greatest living artist. No, really.

Paglia is a Star Wars fan; she has appeared in documentaries devoted to the topic and she has referred to the saga from time to time in her columns. Still, good for her for referring to the lack of recognition of Lucas’s work from the establishment as “scandalous.”

H/T Stefan Kraft & Club Jade

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Camille Paglia Praises ROTS In New Book”

  1. Eddie Says:

    I love it! Some blurb I read referred to her statements on Lucas as “inflammatory”…today’s “inflammatory” is tomorrow’s “commonly accepted view”. It’s the same price at Amazon and Barnes and Noble–$17.64USD; the digital versions are $15.99.

  2. Stefan Kraft Says:

    It was really a mere coincidence I saw the link to this story. Or maybe it was the will of the force…

  3. Adam D. Bram (Collor Pondrat) Says:

    Hell, I’d seriously consider putting up with four more years of elitists to get a Masters just so I could come back and teach a Film Studies class on the saga.

  4. Keith Palmer Says:

    This got my attention; I followed the link to a preview of the book’s introduction. It does seem to me it’s going to be looking at Revenge of the Sith as one final chapter among many and focusing on the visual aspects of the movie (as much as “visual filmmaking” gets mentioned, I do sort of hope the movie can be appreciated as a whole instead of tossing in dialogue criticism “to even things out”), but I’m ready to be hopeful.

  5. Paul F. McDonald Says:

    Was she on SW: The Legacy Revealed on the History Channel? I think I quote her in my book. Anyway, sounds awesome. Is this available in stores?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 336 other followers

